Something Sweet Beanie

I just finished up (well almost) a sweet little hat for myself. I decided to not write a pattern and just free form it for this one. I love beanies and cables, but alas do not know how to make cables (yet) so I did the next best thing fpdc and fptc! Super simple and easy to work up, I think this one took me about 3 hours total due to the lighter weight yarn I used. It’s dark gray and light baby pink ribbons. Eventually I will attach some kind of embellishment where the ties currently are, but for now I think it is complete and I could even wear it as such if I really wanted to 🙂 I love free forming ideas, but generally tend to kick myself when done if I like the results, such is life I guess, sometimes it’s nice to just sit down and let your hands take over, you know?

I also recently taught myself to slip stitch crochet, it really looks like a simple knit stitch when completed. Very nice and easy to do, just takes extra time due to the tight weave. I succeeded in completing a coaster that is roughly 4″x4″ last night after about an hour and a half. To be fair though I changed colors about 8 different times so that tacked on extra time as well. This is definitely a stitch that I will be playing with later on once I get over my obsession with the fpdc and fptc stitches. I tend to shy away from stitches that take a lot of time since I am used to working so fast that I get impatient with them and the project tends to end up in my WIP dresser and forgotten about :/

My model is my old back up that I created out of chicken wire this summer before I got my foam mannequin for the clothes I used to sell, so yes it looks rough but I still like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

